Call for National Hydrogen Association 2022 Awards


National Hydrogen Association invites nominations for the “Nejat Veziroğlu Special Award”, “Technology Award”, “Young Researcher Award” and “Student Researcher Award”. The elective committees formed for the awards are composed of the five members determined by the Board of the National Hydrogen Association in coordination with the chairperson of the award committees. Instead of the members who cannot attend the elective committee due to resignation, excuse or death, new members are determined by the coordination of the association administration. 

Call for Applications – 2022  

Deadline for Application: January 1, 2022 

Nejat Veziroğlu Special Award: This award was created on behalf of Prof. Dr. Nejat Veziroğlu, who is an international leader in hydrogen energy, the father of hydrogen technologies, and the permanent honorary president of the Hydrogen Technologies Association. It is given to people who have proven themselves in the field of hydrogen energy and technologies both domestically and internationally and have made internationally recognized contributions. 

Service Award of Hydrogen Technologies Association: This award is given to the people who have dedicated themselves to hydrogen energy and have served for at least 20 years in the development and application of this field, have contributed to the communal, social, technological, and economic development of the country in this field, have been a pioneer in the education and training of youth, have made institutional contributions and are active in industrial applications.  

Technology Award:  This award has been created for institutions that work effectively on hydrogen energy technologies and develop technologies. It is given to institutions that develop a product for the development of hydrogen technology, establish a pilot or industrial facility in the field of hydrogen energy and technologies, have patents in the field of hydrogen energy and technologies or support technology development. 

Young Researcher Award:  This award has been created for researchers, who are under the age of 35 (not less than 35 years old as of the date of IHTEC-2022 conference, where the award will be given) and have at least a master’s degree. It is given to people who have done successful studies on hydrogen energy technologies that are recognized at the national and international levels. 

Student Researcher Award: This award is given to undergraduate, graduate, or doctoral students. Candidates are expected to be under the age of 30 as of the date of the IHTEC-2022 conference, where the award will be given. The candidates who will be nominated for this award or who will apply themselves, will be preferred for this award if they have developed an invention, a new application, or a unique method for hydrogen technologies 

Winners of these prizes will be invited to attend IHTEC2022 in which they will participate in the award ceremony and their transportation and hotel expenses will be covered by the association.

Note: Multiple applications can be submitted and nominated, but the recipient cannot be nominated again in the same category.

Required Documents and Communication:

  • Reason for nomination or application to the selected award category (a comprehensive justification is required)
  • A very detailed resume of the candidate
  • List and disclose all works related specifically to the award.  The application will be sent electronically (direct to and the hard copy directly to the association mailing address.

Evaluation Process:

Award Committees convene in the second half of January. The award secretariat assigned by the Association participates in the meetings in order to carry out the correspondence.

Award winners will be announced before IHTEC-2022 following the Award Committee’s assessment. Members who cannot participate in the electoral committee meetings are invited to vote via telephone or Skype or send their votes in written form to the Chairman of the Award Committee in advance. Written votes do not change during the replay of the votes.